Covington-McGee Christian Counseling
Twogether in Texas
Pre-Marital Classes & Weddings
Twogether in Texas
Pre-Marital Classes & Weddings
Is our marriage license free if we successfully complete the 8-hour marriage training course?
Answer: The $60 state portion of the marriage license fee will be waived if you complete an approved premarital training course and present your certificate to the county clerk. Counties may add up to $22 in additional fees to a marriage license. Those local fees will not be waived.
If we complete the course, do we have to wait 72 hours before getting married?
Answer: The county clerk will waive the 72-hour waiting period for couples who present a certificate of completion proving they completed an 8-hour premarital training course.
Once we have completed the premarital training classes and get a certificate, how long is the certificate good for?
Answer: The certificate is good for one year and serves as proof that the couple is eligible for the discounted marriage license fee and can waive the 72-hour waiting period.
Can my spouse and I return and take more classes after we are married?
I am currently taking a premarital course. Can I get a Twogether in Texas certificate?
Answer: To get the certificate and a discounted marriage license, the person offering the marriage education course must be a registered Twogether in Texas Service Provider.
Covington-McGee Christian Counseling is a registered provider and will issue a certificate provided by the Official Twogether In Texas Program and which has a bar code and serial number to guarantee its authenticity.
Please note your shipping charge is included in the charge. This also covers paid postage charges to ship your Twogether Marriage Certificate that you will need to obtain the discounted marriage license rate. You have exactly one year to purchase your marriage license to receive a discount from the day we issue your certificate.
Marriage License Requirements
Marriage License Fees:
$81.00 – wo/ Premarital Course Certificate
$21.00 – w/ Premarital Course Certificate
$46.00 – Informal Marriage (Common Law)
100 Dolorosa Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. / M – F
(except for Court Approved Holidays)
There are two different types of marriage licenses in Texas, and basic requirements are the same for both types of marriage:
A “Formal marriage license” A formal marriage license can be obtained from any county in Texas and the marriage can be performed anywhere. If the marriage takes place outside of Texas, contact the appropriate state office, consulate or embassy to learn the marriage requirements for that state or country.
A “Declaration And Registration Of An Informal Marriage (Common Law)“ An informal marriage license can be obtained and recorded by a couple who agree to be married, and after the agreement, they lived together in this state as a couple and represented to others that they were married.
The following information is required on a marriage license application of both spouses, or party A and party B, the information needed for marriage license requirements is below:
Both parties must appear in person.
Both parties must be 18 and older, or court-emancipated minors 16 and over.
Submit proof of identity and age.
Must know Social Security number.
Must Know city, county, and state where you were born.
Effective September 1, 2013 – A person who is incarcerated may not apply for a marriage license.
Marriage ID Requirement Texas:
Must have a valid, government-issued picture identification:
Certified copy of birth certificate and valid photo ID
Marriage Residency Requirement Texas:
Answer: You do not have to be a resident of Texas.
Previous Marriages :
If either applicant has been recently divorced, the state requires a 30-day waiting period from the date of the filed divorce decree, unless waived by the court. Female applicants are required to submit a certified copy of final decree showing their restored maiden name if different from current identification.
Proxy Marriages Texas:
Yes, but marriage by proxy in Texas is limited to individuals serving in the military and stationed outside of the country.
Cousin Marriages Texas:
Common Law Marriages Texas:
Blood Test Requirement Texas:
No. Blood tests or medical examinations are not required in Texas.
Marriage Witnesses Texas:
You do not need to bring witnesses to obtain the Marriage license.
Texas that does not require witnesses at the ceremony.
Online Applications (if applicable):
Marriage license applications may be filled out and saved online. However, applicants must appear in person to sign and purchase the marriage license. Please note: additional information will be required of each applicant when the marriage license is issued.
Marriage Officiants Texas:
Persons authorized to perform weddings in Texas include licensed or ordained Christian ministers, priests, Jewish rabbis, officers authorized by religious organizations, justices of the supreme court, judges of the court of criminal appeals, justices of the courts of appeals, judges of the district, county, and probate courts, judges of the county courts at law, judges of the courts of domestic relations, judges of the juvenile courts, retired justices or judges, justices of the peace, retired justices of the peace, and judges or magistrates of a federal court of Texas.
Covington-McGee Christian Counseling is a Ordained Christian Pastor/ Minister she/her officiate’s weddings.
Click link below to check out our website: